Chemistry Department

The Department of Chemistry was established in 1957. The Chemistry Post Graduate course was started in 1964. A Research Centre in Chemistry was established in the College in 1976, with a view to promote research interests, both among the students and the teachers of the Department. Currently the Department offers Under-Graduate courses, Post- Graduate courses and research programmes. The Department is an approved research center for Chemistry under the University of Kerala. Chemistry is offered as a Complementary paper to the Under Graduate students of Physics, Botany and Zoology by the Department.

From its inception, the Department has striven to set high standards of teaching and learning. The galaxy of eminent alumni bears ample testimony to the Department\'s excellence as a result of the hard work and dedication of a team of committed faculty members, guided by able administrators. The Department is a DST-FIST supported department. The golden jubilee of the PG Department of Chemistry was celebrated in the academic year 2015-16. The department has produced several nationally and internationally renowned scientists and professors who are holding positions of high esteem.

The Research Department is engaged in active research and conducts various research activities in the fields of solid state kinetics, biomaterials, electrochemistry, phytochemistry, pharmaceutical chemistry, synthetic organic chemistry and materials chemistry. The Department has 10 Faculty Members, out of whom 5 are research guides. The Department has several major and minor projects from various government agencies like the UGC, DST and CSIR. The Department provides consultancy services to IGNOU and undertakes projects from various industries.

Dr Sumol Varghese is the current head of the Department.

Ms. Suma P. Oommen, M.Sc., B.Ed., M. Phil

Associate Professor, HOD

Phone:0471-2530816, 9847572372


Dr. George Lukose

Associate Professor



Dr. James T. Joseph MSc, BEd, MPhil, PhD

Associate Professor

Phone:0471-2533207, 8943479007


Dr. Suju C Joseph MSc, PhD, DCT (USA)

Assistant Professor

Phone:0471-2550025, 96330078868


Dr. Suja Mathai MSc, BEd, PGDCA, PhD

Assistant Professor



Dr.R. Selwin Joseyphus M.Sc., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor



Dr. Soniamol Joseph, M.Sc., Ph.D.

Assistant Professor



Dr. Sajith Kurian MSc, PhD

Assistant Professor



Ms. Binimol Mary Mathew

Assistant Professor





Dr. Jadu Samuel MSc, MPhil, PhD

Prof. J. Fenn

Prof. E. T Varkey

Prof.K. P. Ittiavrah

Prof. T. J. Joseph

Prof. K. R. Krishnan

Prof. Ittiavirah Joseph

Prof. O. P. Abraham

Prof. G. C. S. Mani

Prof. A. J. Varghese

Prof. John Joseph

Prof. C. G. Subramania Iyer

Prof. P. K. Thomas

Rev. Fr. Francis Kalacherry

Prof. A. Venkitachalam Iyer

Prof. P. A. Abraham

Prof. K. V. Joseph

Prof. Joseph Pullukat

Prof. P. M. Peter

Dr. Scaria M. Chakalackal

Prof. K. Ramaswamy Iyer

Prof. T. G. Geevarghese

Dr. M. J. Chandy

Prof. Chacko Adhikaram

Prof. K. John Mathai

Rev. Sr. Mary Mathew

Prof. Raju Abraham

Prof. P.C. Tharian

Rev. Fr. Thomas Kottarathil

Prof. K. I. Idiculla

Prof. M. S. George

Prof. P. G. Thomas

Prof. P. N. Kesavan Nambeesan

Prof. T. D. Kurian

Prof.Dr.John Koshy



Prof. K.T.Samuel

Prof.Sosakutty Varghese


Mr.Varghese Zachariah. M.Sc.,B.Ed

Mrs. P.K. Gracykutty, M.Sc., M.Phil.

Mrs. Amminikutty.D, M.Sc.

Dr. Abraham George, M.Sc., D.D.E., P.G.D.H.E., M.Phil., Ph.D

Dr. Joseph Mathew, M.Sc., M.Phil.

Ms. Aleyamma Mathew

Mr. V.Varghese, M.Sc., M.Phil

Mr. Johnson Varghese M.Sc. M.Phil

Mrs. S. Lalitha, M.Sc., B.Ed. Mphil

Dr. Sumol Varghese

The Department has 2 UGC Minor Research Projects, 1 CSIR Major Project and 1 DST-SERB Major Project. Departmental projects funded by DST-FIST; DBT, ICSSR, etc. have received total grants of Rs 12 Lakhs.

Students of the Department accompanied by Faculty go for field visits to FACT (Kochi & Aluva), NIIST, Trivandrum and Tuber Research Institute, Trivandrum.

The PG students of the Department do project work at CESS Akkulam & Ayurveda College, Trivandrum.





Social Media

Contact Us

Bethany Hills, Nalanchira P.O,
Thiruvanathapuram - 695015 Kerala, India.
Phone Number:+91-471 2531053, 2530023
Fax:+91-471 2531053, 2530023

© 2018 - All Rights Reserved Triomphe IT