Malayalam Department

Established in the year 1949, the Department of Malayalam has among its members some of the most important critics and scholars in the field of Malayalam language and literature including Rev. Fr. Daniel Ayyaneth, Prof. P.C. Devassia, Prof. Chemmanam Chacko, Rev. Fr. Oommen Ayyaneth, Prof. G.Vaiyanatha Ayyar, Prof. A.Parameswara Sasthri, Rev. Dr. M.O.Kuriakose, Dr. George Onakoor, Rev. Dr. Samuel Mar Irenios, Dr. C. Stephen, Dr. Jolly Jacob and many others.

The Department offers Malayalam as an additional language and complementary course for B.A., B.Sc.and B.Com. students. The Department was bestowed with the status of P.G department in 2013 and offers the innovative programme M.A. Malayalam with Media Studies.

The Department has one Post- Doctoral Research award by the UGC and has completed three Major Research Projects of the UGC. Scholars working with the members of the Department have produced more than 25 doctorates till date. Research guides in the Department include Dr. George Onakkoor, Rev. Dr. Samuel Mar Irenios, Dr. C Stephen and Dr. Jolly Jacob. Members of the Department function regularly in Academic Councils, Faculty and Board of studies (PG&UG) of various universities. They have been nominated or elected as members of the Senate, Syndicate and the Film Censor Board.

Toji Varghese. T is the Head of the Department. The current staff strength of the department is 5 including guest faculty. The Department offers a positive class room environment to the students.

Toji Varghese T

Assistant Professor



Ms. Sajitha B.L.

Assistant Professor



Ms. Remya R

Guest Faculty



Renjini RS

Guest Faculty




Mr. Alex Babu

Guest Faculty(SF)



Mr. A.O.Roy MA, BEd, MPhil

Prof. G. Vaidyanadha Iyer

Prof. K. K. Varghese

Prof. A. Parameswara Sastri

Prof. K. M. Thomas

Prof. Chemmanam Chacko

Prof. T. K. Rajasekharan

Prof. N. K. John

Rev. Fr. Daniel Aiyyaneth

Prof. K. K. Geevarghese

Rev. Fr. Oommen Aiyyaneth

Prof. (Mrs.) Indira Devi . B

Rev. Dr. M.O. Kuriakose O.I.C

Mr. K. Soman Nadar MA., BEd., M.Phil

Dr. Annamma A. MA, BEd, MPhil, PhD

Dr. Jolly Jacob

The Department has a UGC Major Research Project





Social Media

Contact Us

Bethany Hills, Nalanchira P.O,
Thiruvanathapuram - 695015 Kerala, India.
Phone Number:+91-471 2531053, 2530023
Fax:+91-471 2531053, 2530023

© 2020 - All Rights Reserved Triomphe IT